Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm

Jump to “More items of this artist”

Robert Cray ist jetzt über sechzig, doch er wirkt viel jünger. Man könnte meinen, das alte Klischee von der Musik als Jungbrunnen träfe hier zu. Und in der Tat – dieser Mann ist immer noch mit Hingabe Musiker und ein Fan, der auf Tour gerne Plattenläden auf der Suche nach alten Schätzen durchstreift. Immer auf dem Einkaufszettel: die Klassiker des Südstaaten-Soul: Al Green, O. V. Wright, Ann Peebles – Vokalisten, die für den Produzenten Willie Mitchell in Memphis arbeiteten. Der wiederum zu Lebzeiten seine Produktionen immer an gleicher Stelle machte – in den Royal Studios zu Memphis. Genau dorthin ging jetzt auch Robert Cray.
"Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm" ist eines der besseren Cray-Alben geworden. Stimmig, vital und hinsichtlich seiner Hommage für die Musiker einer ruhmreichen Soul-Vergangenheit durchaus mit Tiefgang. Die Merkmale des Southern Soul waren nie plakativ oder aufdringlich – und die relaxte Hi Rhythm Section musiziert auch im Alter mit Augenmerk auf das Wesentliche. Robert Cray fühlt sich offenbar pudelwohl in dieser Gesellschaft. Und beschließt sein Album mit einem RnB-Cover aus den Fifties und einem schönen Solo: "I’m With You" heißt der Song – und wir schließen uns an: Well done, Mr. Cray.

CD-Tipp von Harald Mönkedieck für

The songs are mostly obscure covers (Cray contributes three originals), unusual for a guy who prides himself on his compositions. But with a few gems from the catalogs of Sir Mack Rice and Tony Joe White, who even trekked from his Nashville home to be a part of the sessions, and deep tracks from Bill Withers (“The Same Love that Made Me Laugh” nails that gutsy, organ drenched Hi groove) and The “5” Royales (the 50s doo-wop “I’m With You” gets a two part treatment with a vocal workout followed by one of Cray’s distinctive, stabbing staccato guitar solos), this feels as authentic, rugged and well, soulful as the choicest items from the Hi label catalog.
The highlights come fast and furious, starting with a horn blasted, sweat soaked, rocking version of O.V. Wright’s “You Must Believe in Yourself” that shows Cray can replace his typically placid, smooth vocals with some harsh howling, even pushing into a ragged falsetto as the song grinds through its paces in just under four minutes. Tony Joe White’s two contributions range from the “Rainy Night in Georgia” styled honeyed groove of “Aspen, Colorado” to the tough locomotive chug of “Don’t Steal My Love.” He contributes to both, adding his stamp of approval to Cray’s heartfelt and powerful readings. Cray’s smoldering “You Had My Heart” is a worthy addition as it sways along with stripped down ominous percussion and a sweet/salty vocal.


More items
Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm LP € 19.90 Info

Leave a Reply

Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm
Robert Cray & Hi Rhythm
JV CD 2017
€ 15.90

1. The Same Love That Made Me Laugh
2. You Must Believe in Yourself
3. I Don't Care
4. Aspen, Colorado
5. Just How Low
6. You Had My Heart
7. I'm with You, Pt. 1
8. Honey Bad
9. The Way We Are
10. Don't Steal My Love
11. I'm with You, Pt. 2