Turn Off The News (Build A Garden)

Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real sind zurück, mit Turn Off The News (Build A Garden), ihrem zweiten Album, das am 14. Juni 2019 erscheinen wird. Lukas Nelson und seine Band haben im vergangenen Jahr im oscarprämierten A Star Is Born mitgespielt, für den Nelson auch einige Songs des Soundtracks geschrieben hat.
Auf seinem neuen Album zeigt sich Lukas Nelson von seiner besten Seite: als Songwriter, Sänger, Gitarrist und Bandleader - ein Künstler auf dem Höhepunkt seines Schaffens, unterstützt von Promise of the Real, seinen Verbündeten, eines der talentiertesten und gefragtesten Rock and Roll-Ensembles der heutigen Zeit. Als Stargäste sind auf dem Album unter anderem Margo Price, Sheryl Crow, Willie Nelson, Micah Nelson, Kesha, Shooter Jennings, Randy Houser, Lucius, Madison Ryann Ward, Hunter Elizabeth und Neil Young vertreten.

There’s a relaxed, some may say hippie-ish vibe that threads through tunes as varied as the opening “Bad Case” with ist Traveling Wilburys’ singalong melody, the ultra-slick, sweeping, widescreen pure pop “Stars Made of You,” and the heartfelt, folksy love song “”Consider It Heaven” that could easily have been penned by Willie. The older Nelson makes a brief appearance, inserting trademarked jazzy lines from his trusty Trigger acoustic guitar on the sweet “Mystery.”
With all the excitement in Nelson’s career, he encourages his romantic interest to “Come live the simple life” in a track that seems plucked from an old Loggins & Messina album. And J.J. Cale’s nonchalant swampy lope abounds, especially in the easy shuffling “Lotta Fun.”
These diverse songs find their balance not just with a subtle mix of rootsy country, folk, pop, soul and Americana, but in Nelson’s homespun vocals inviting you to unplug and, well, do what the disc’s title suggests.
- americansongwriter.com

Comments are closed.

Turn Off The News (Build A Garden)
Turn Off The News (Build A Garden)
CON 518
€ 8.00*

1. Bad Case
2. Turn Off the News (Build a Garden)
3. Where Does Love Go
4. Save a Little Heartache
5. Lotta Fun
6. Civilized Hell
7. Mystery
8. Simple Life
9. Out In La
10. Something Real
11. Stars Made of You
12. Turn Off the News (Build a Garden)
13. Consider It Heaven