One Way Out

Melissa Etheridge meldet sich mit neuer Musik und der Ankündigung eines ganz besonderen Albums zurück, das wie eine Zeitkapsel funktioniert: One Way Out heißt der neue Longplayer der 59-jährigen Musikerin und Aktivistin. Die Entstehungsgeschichte von One Way Out ist mindestens ungewöhnlich: Basierend auf Songskizzen aus den späten Achtzigern und frühen Neunzigern, die Etheridge damals nicht weiter verfolgt hatte, entstanden zuletzt - Jahrzehnte später - insgesamt neun Tracks, die nun auf dem Album versammelt sind.

2021 release. Etheridge stumbled upon these decades old songs/demos years ago while gathering materials for a retrospective box set. As she went through the songs, it brought her back to the start of her career and how they just weren't right for that particular time or album. Some of the tracks were written before she had even come out and never felt comfortable releasing them, but knew they would be perfect for the box set. In 2013, the singer found herself back at Henson Studios in Los Angeles with her original band (Fritz Lewak, John Shanks, Kevin McCormick) and would give these songs a new life. Shortly after she finished the record, she would part ways with her label and the box set was shelved. Melissa would begin working on new material and once again, those songs were set aside. That is, until 2020 when she was sorting through old files to share with fans on Etheridge TV's Friday Night Time Machine show. The time was finally right. Fans will finally get a deeper glimpse to who Melissa was then.

Comments are closed.

One Way Out
One Way Out
BGRT LP 5595
€ 23.90*

1. One Way Out
2. As Cool As You Try
3. I'm No Angel Myself
4. For The Last Time
5. Save Myself
6. That Would Be Me
7. Wild Wild Wild
8. You Have No Idea (Live)
9. Life Goes On (Live)