Neal Morse war seit dem "Woodstock"-Film infiziert von Rock, Westcoast-Harmonien, die melodiöse Sensibilität. Später spielte er bei Spock's Beard, Transatlantic, Flying Colors und der Neal Morse Band und wurde zu einer zentralen Figur der Prog-Szene. Zusammen mit Nick D'Virgilio (Big Big Train, Spock's Beard) und Ross Jennings (Haken, Novena) hat er nun das Album "Troika" produziert, auf dem es vor allem um dreistimmige Gesänge geht. Die klingen tatsächlich nach Crosby, Stills & Nash, und auch die reduzierten Arrangements aus akustischen Gitarren und Percussion führen in die Welt der Westcoast-Musik. "Troika" hat allerdings keine Seventies-Patina, ist stilistisch breiter als der Sound des Laurel Canyon.

Nick D’Virgilio (Big Big Train, ex-Spock’s Beard), Neal Morse (Transatlantic, NMB, ex-Spock’s Beard), and Ross Jennings (Haken, Novena) are pleased to announce the formation of their new trio D’Virgilio, Morse & Jennings. The group has signed to InsideOutMusic for the release of their debut album ‘Troika’ in early 2022. Recorded during lockdown, the process began with Neal Morse writing some acoustic songs that he thought would be enhanced by strong vocal harmonies. He already knew how well his voice blended with former Spock's Beard bandmate and Big Big Train drummer/ vocalist, Nick D'Virgilio who came on board and, considering a third man, the Americans sought out Haken's Ross Jennings from the UK to complete the trio. All three found they had songs that would benefit from the three-part harmonic blend, and so they pooled their resources, input-ting creatively into each others compositions.

Comments are closed.

IOU 6112
€ 9.90*

1. Everything I Am
2. Julia
3. You Set My Soul On Fire
4. One Time Less
5. Another Trip Around the Sun
6. A Change is Gonna Come
7. If I Could
8. King For a Day
9. Second Hand Sons
10. My Guardian
11. What You Leave Behind
12. Julia (Alternative Version)