September November

New studio album by The Long Ryders, the follow up the critically acclaimed ‘Psychedelic Country Soul’. The album’s songs are all originals by guitarist/ mandolinist Sid Griffin (author of the Bob Dylan ‘Basement Tapes’ book Million Dollar Bash) and guitarist/pedal steel player Stephen McCarthy (who also plays with the Jayhawks and the Dream Syndicate). Produced by Ed Stasium, best known for his long relationship as producer and engineer for the Ramones. Ed has also produced two previous Long Ryders’ records and worked with Smithereens, Soul Asylum, Motörhead, Marshall Crenshaw, Living Colour, the Hoodoo Gurus and Julian Cope. Long Ryder guitarist/mandolinist Sid Griffin states September November is “two thirds the distilled alt- country genre we helped found back in the 1980s, one third Paisley Underground adventurism yet seasoned with a dash of our own crazed soulfulness thrown in.” Due to the unexpected passing of bassist Tom Stevens, bass duties on the new album were shared by Murry Hammond of Americana stalwarts the Old 97s and the Long Ryders’ own Stephen McCarthy. Guests appearing in the album include D. J. Bonebrake of Los Angeles’s punk legends X and Royal Academy of Music violinist Kerenza Peacock of the Coal Porters (now a popular L.A. session player for Disney and the Los Angeles Philharmonic).

Comments are closed.

September November
September November
CRCD 878
€ 17.90*

1. September November Sometime
2. Seasons Change
3. Flying Down
4. Elmer Gantry is Alive and Well
5. Hand of Fate
6. Song For Ukraine
7. To the Manor Born
8. That's What They Say About Love
9. Country Blues (Kitchen)
10. Tom Tom
11. Until God Takes Me Away
12. Flying Out of London In the Rain