Smile (2014 Deluxe Re-Issue)

Jump to “More items of this artist”

Gefeiert als Pioniere des Alternative-Country/Americana Sound, endstanden in der Mitte der 80er Jahre Szene The Jayhawks aus Minneapolis.
Die Veröffentlichung der erweiterten Versionen von Sound of Lies (1997), Smile (2000) und Rainy Day Music (2003) vervollständigt das Remastering des gesamten Backkatalogs der Band.
Alle drei American Recordings Veröffentlichungen enthalten Bonus Tracks, neue Liner Notes und erweiterte Broschüren.

With Smile, the Jayhawks drop yet another sizable chunk of their alt-country sound by the roadside, adding in its place healthy doses of power pop and modern electronic music. Almost half of Smile's songs feature looped percussion, overdubbed drum tracks, or flat-out, funky backbeats. Little blips of sound skitter underneath the mostly acoustic guitars on the wistful "What Led Me to This Town" and make "Queen of the World" a worthy candidate for a dance remix (if the Jayhawks were ever to consider such a thing). Their second record since the departure of founder and leader Mark Olson, Smile is meant as a direct reaction to the pessimism of Sound of Lies, their underappreciated, moody offering from 1997. Ironically, with the charismatic Gary Louris now fronting the group alone, they sound more like a band than ever before. Despite the modern touches, though, the fact remains that Smile retains just enough of a distinctly Americana feeling. On the warm and twangy "Better Days," one of Louris' best songs in years, he sings with genuine regret and heartache the way he treated a long ago lover, and on "Break in the Clouds" he celebrates the comforts of domestic contentment, complete with pedal steel and soaring harmonies that recall the band's landmark work Hollywood Town Hall from 1992. The general shift in direction may alienate a few long-term fans, but much like friends Wilco achieved with their adventurous Summerteeth, Smile's modern touches may bring even more people into the band's orbit. What never changes on the Jayhawks' albums, it seems, are the blissful melodies and well-constructed tunes, and that may just be enough for even the toughest critics. (All Music Guide -

More items
Back Roads And Abandoned Motels CD € 14.90 Info
Back Roads And Abandoned Motels LP € 20.90 Info
Blue Earth CD (+ 3 Bonustracks) € 16.90 Info

Comments are closed.

Smile (2014 Deluxe Re-Issue)
Smile (2014 Deluxe Re-Issue)
AR 573
€ 8.90

1. Smile
2. I'm Gonna Make You Love Me
3. What Led Me To This Town
4. Somewhere In Ohio
5. A Break In The Couds
6. Queen Of The World
7. Life Floats By
8. Broken Harpoon
9. Pretty Thing
10. Mr. Wilson
11. (In My) Wildest Dreams
12. Better Days
13. Baby, Baby, Baby
14. Who Made You King*
15. Gypsy In The Mood
16. A Part Of You (demo)**
17. Life's Little Ups And Downs (live)**
18. Greta Garbo (demo)**
19. Five Cornered Blues (demo)**
*previously commercially unavailable
**previously unreleased