Songs For Judy

Jump to “More items of this artist”

Archive release from the veteran singer/songwriter. Songs For Judy is a thoroughly engaging collection of live acoustic performances culled from Neil's November 1976 solo tour and features twenty-two songs recorded at various cities along the tour. This song cycle of live recordings is particularly powerful and unique. Young had spent much of the year traveling around the world on tour with Crazy Horse. When touring on his own, he recharged and focused on songs that would not surface in recorded form for several years. Of the albums many treasures, "No One Seems To Know" would not see the light of day until now and it remains unreleased in any other iteration. The raw versions of the tracks found on Songs For Judy reflect an artist completely unvarnished and unafraid to allow the songs to breath and to find their own shape when performed in a solo setting. Songs written in that era would come into focus and then seemingly disappear only to re-enter Young's orbit somewhere down the road. "White Line" and "Give Me Strength" are such examples of finding the light in 1990 and 2017 respectively. It's also fascinating to hear Young revisit early gems such as Springfield's "Mr. Soul" ('67), "Here We Are In The Years" ('68), and "The Losing End" ('69) from some of his earliest solo recordings which remain as timeless as ever.

More items
Before + After CD € 17.90* Info
Before + After (Black Vinyl) LP € 29.90* Info
Chrome Dreams CD € 19.90* Info
Chrome Dreams (The Long Lost 1977 album) 2-LP € 47.90* Info
Colorado CD € 15.90* Info
Dume 2-LP € 32.90* Info
Fu##in' Up CD € 19.90* Info
Fu##in' Up 2-LP € 37.90* Info
Harvest Moon 2-LP (Limited Edition, Coloured Vinyl, Transparent, Etched) € 37.90* Info
Noise And Flowers (Live 2019) CD € 17.90* Info
Odeon Budokan LP € 25.90* Info
Somewhere Under The Rainbow - Nov. 5, 1973 2-LP € 23.90* Info
Tuscaloosa (live) CD € 14.90* Info
Way Down In The Rust Bucket 2-CD € 16.90* Info
World Record 2-LP € 39.90* Info

Comments are closed.

Songs For Judy
Songs For Judy
RPRW 4192
€ 15.90*

1. Songs for Judy (Intro)
2. Too Far Gone
3. No One Seems to Know
4. Heart of Gold
5. White Line
6. Love Is a Rose
7. After the Gold Rush
8. Human Highway
9. Tell Me Why
10. Mr. Soul
11. Mellow My Mind
12. Give Me Strength
13. A Man Needs a Maid
14oll Another Number
15 Journey Through the Past
16 Harvest
17 Campaigner
18 Old Laughing Lady
19 The Losing End
20 Here We Are In the Years
21 The Needle and the Damage Done
22 Pocahontas
23 Sugar Mountain